Writing 101: Day 1 – Why do I write?

I write because I love to write. And I love to write because it helps me make sense of all my thoughts and feelings; it helps me make sense of all the different experiences of life. And, if I’m feeling brave, writing helps me share thoughts, ideas and insights with other people. Writing is also hugely important to me because it helps me work out what I need to say. I’m a really lousy speaker, especially hopeless if I have to think and speak on the spot with no time to prepare beforehand. I’m better if I’ve had time to think about what needs to be said, and I can even speak quite well (so others tell me) if I’ve had time to think it all through in writing before I get up to speak. I also write – journal – to create memories. I take great joy in re-reading things I wrote years ago to relive the experience in detail that would otherwise have been lost inside a head too busy and preoccupied with the many thoughts of today.

What are your thoughts?

