My year in books: 2014

Since I started blogging back in September, I’ve loved discovering a whole world of book blogs and reading challenges out there in the blogosphere.  It’s meant I’ve come across books I hadn’t heard of before – or might not have thought about reading – so my TBR list is now longer than it ever was (not that I knew I had a TBR list – or even what one was – before I entered the book blogging world!). I even began to wonder if my own blog should be just for books – but this vicar has way more thoughts than just those about books so it will go on being a place of random musings for the foreseeable future.

But perhaps the best outcome of starting to blog is that I’ve read far more books in the months since I started blogging than I’d been reading in the months before I did.  And having the blog has given me a space to keep a record of my reading – something that never quite worked before.

I’ve tried to put a list of my 2014 reading together – both fiction and nonfiction.  It’s not been easy with no written records before September, but I think I’ve remembered most of what I’ve read this year.  All the books listed with an asterisk* are books read on the Kindle I got as a Christmas present a year ago.  Given what I’ve said before about struggling with e-reading, I’m amazed just how many I did read on a screen rather than on paper.

  • The Casual Vacancy* J K Rowling
  • Bridget Jones – Mad about the Boy* Helen Fielding
  • One Night in Winter Simon Sebag Montefiore
  • The Sweetest Hallelujah* Elaine Hussey
  • The Lie Helen Dunmore
  • A Possible Life Sebastian Faulks
  • Chestnut Street* Maeve Binchy
  • The Last Runaway Tracy Chevalier
  • Purple Hibiscus* Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • Americanah* Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
  • The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry* Rachel Joyce
  • The Love Song of Miss Queenie Hennessy* Rachel Joyce
  • Your Church in the News* Robbie Lane
  • Beyond Busyness: Time Wisdom for MinistryStephen Cherry
  • Pilgrim: A Course for the Christian Journey Stephen Cottrell (et al)
  • How to Write Great Blog Posts that Engage Readers* Steve Scott
  • Productivity Ninja* Graham Allcott
  • One Summer: America 1927 Bill Bryson
  • Red Love: The Story of an East German Family Maxim Leo
  • Born in the GDR: Living in the Shadow of the Wall Hester Vaizey
  • Italian Ways: On and Off the Rails from Milan to Palermo Tim Parks
  • Reading Lolita in Tehran Azar Nafisi
  • I am Malala Malala Yousafzai
  • Travellers of the Heart: Exploring New Pathways on our Spiritual Journey Michael Mitton
  • Making Disciples in Messy Church: Growing faith in an all-age community Paul Moore
  • The Challenge of Change: A Guide to Shaping Change and Changing the Shape of the Church Phil Potter
  • The Book of Boaz Dave Smith
  • Walking Backwards to Christmas Stephen Cottrell
  • Lingo: A Language Spotters Guide to Europe  Gaston Dorren

Well, those are the ones I can remember. There are a few more that I started but haven’t finished, so I’ve left them off the list. I love the final list and can see it’s very ‘me’. There’s a good mix of fiction and nonfiction and coverage of a fair few countries along the way as well as some ‘how-to’ type books and those that connect with my Christian life and ministry.

I’ve just skimmed the list to pick out some favourites, but I just can’t single any out as there were good things about most of them. Looking forward to getting down to some more reading in 2015.

Happy New Year!

One thought on “My year in books: 2014

What are your thoughts?

