WWW Wednesday

MizB over at Should Be Reading hosts this weekly Wednesday challenge open to anyone who wants to answer three reading-related questions. I first joined in with this challenge a month ago. It’s been a slow reading month since, but my answers are now all different, so it’s a good time for an update.

What are you currently reading?

I am Malala – the autobiography of the incredible teenager, Malala Yousafzai, shot by the Taliban and now a Nobel Peace prize winner. It’s a great read so far.

I also have a brilliant Advent read on the go too. Walking Backwards To Christmas by Bishop Stephen Cottrell is billed as a book ‘for all those who thought they knew the story well’ – guess I’m included in that dedication then!

What did you recently finish reading? imageAfter frustratingly only having time for a few pages a day, I eventually finished Azar Nafisi’s Reading Lolita in Tehran. I loved every page of it – a brilliantly creative exploration of post-revolutionary Iran which cleverly weaves in some of the classics of English literature.

 

What do you think you will read next?

With such a long and constantly growing TBR list, it’s so hard to decide at the moment. Perhaps another take on Iran: Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi.  But then I’d also like to get started on Eugen Ruge’s In Times of Fading Light.  And if not Iran or the former GDR, then perhaps one of the long list of African novels and memoirs I’ve got lined up.  But then it’s Advent and so nearly Christmas and I’m a vicar, so who am I kidding on the reading front in these coming weeks!

What are your thoughts?

