That’s no holiday!

The Friday prompt from Blogher for NaBloPoMo grabbed my attention because it’s about one of my favourite subjects:   Where is the one place you would never want to go on vacation that other people seem to love?

But the angle the question takes makes it so difficult for me to answer. I love travelling to new places and I’ve been so fortunate to have seen so much of the world in my life already, all of which makes it’s hard to imagine there might be some typical holiday destination others love that I wouldn’t want to visit even if I had the chance.

The first thought that came to mind is a cruise – I’ve never really fancied being closed up on a ship for days with just brief stopovers in places of interest. But then I can imagine loving a cruise somewhere with spectacular scenery like the coast of B.C, Canada or Alaska. For similar reasons I’ve never been much taken by the idea of an all-inclusive holiday in a swish hotel quite cut off from the local area it is situated in. But then these options that I’m rejecting don’t come cheap, so they perhaps aren’t options for me anyway as they would far exceed our family holiday budget.

Applying the same principle closer to home, I think I’d have to conclude I wouldn’t want to be on the kind of holiday where my days are planned out to the last second and where I’m corralled in with lots of other people doing the same set things.

cropped-image2.jpg

Summer 2014: Positano, Italy

Vacation for me is about freedom, flexibility and spontaneity, which explains why I’ve never repeated exactly the same holiday I’ve had before, though I have sometimes been back to a place I’ve visited before. I love to be able to discover and explore new places – I love the experience of new sights and sounds and different customs and languages.

So, for me, the answer to this question seems to be not so much about a particular place others might like that I have no desire to visit – it’s more about the way of visiting and the kind of holiday, whether it happens to take place at home or abroad.

What are your thoughts?

