WWW Wednesday

MizB over at Should Be Reading hosts this weekly Wednesday challenge. Anyone can join in by answering three reading-related questions. I thought I’d give it a go for the first time this week as I’ve just had some time off work and a chance for more reading than usual. And I have the great joy of ‘too many’ great books around me that I’d love  to share with others.

What are you currently reading?

image

I have several books currently on the go but the one I keep turning to right now is Reading Lolita in Tehran by Azar Nafisi. Vasily Grossman’s huge Life and Fate is my ongoing big read, and I’m still enjoying a slow and thoughtful read through We Make the Road by Walking (Brian McLaren) and blogging my way chapter by chapter through the biblical book of Jeremiah.

What did you recently finish reading?

Just a week ago, I finished reading Born in the GDR by Cambridge historian, Hester Vaizey – a brilliant read that I would highly recommend as we approach the 25th anniversary this coming weekend of the fall of the Berlin Wall. I will write more detail in a post for that anniversary but, for now, I really recommend this book for the opportunity it provides for hearing the real-life stories of eight very different East Germans who were still teenagers or young adults back then – born and raised in the GDR, a country that no longer exists – and found themselves caught up in different ways in the transition from Communism to Capitalism.

What do you think you’ll read next?

I hardly dare add any more possibilities when my current reading list is already so long, but I’m really looking forward to having the time for Christopher Clark’s The Sleepwalkers and Carol Shield’s The Stone Diaries.

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday

  1. I really enjoyed The Stone Diaries so I’d recommend that one for your next read. I can’t believe it is 25 years since the Berlin Wall came down, Born in GDR must give a huge insight into the realities of such a momentous change.

    • Thanks for taking the time to comment. I agree – I can’t believe it’s a quarter of a century since I watched those scenes in Berlin – no wonder I feel so old now! I will definitely make The Stone Diaries my next read. I only wish I could find a few more reading hours in the day – or days in the week!

What are your thoughts?

